Excellence in Mentoring Awards & Iowa Volunteer Hall of Fame Recognition Ceremony

Wednesday, April 11, 2018

Event Date: 

Tuesday, April 17, 2018 - 2:30pm
Event Details: 

Excellence in Mentoring Awards, established in 2009, gives Iowa Mentoring Partnership (IMP) certified programs the opportunity to recognize outstanding long-time youth mentors. Individuals selected have served as a mentor a minimum of two years and exemplify both the spirit and positive benefits of mentoring. 

Award recipients:

  • Eric Spriet, Quad Cities

Eric Spriet is a mentor at Big Brothers Big Sisters of the Mississippi Valley in the Quad Cities. In the nearly 400 hours spent with his match, Eric has shown incredible steadiness and has given his mentee a sense of consistency in their relationship. Eric is so dedicated to the mentoring match that he has turned down job offers in areas that might take him away from his mentee.

  • Edi Norris, Shenandoah

Edi Norris has been a mentor with M.A.Y. Mentoring in Shenandoah for 18 years since the program began. Edi and her late husband mentored four students together. She has continued to mentor and is an active Advisory Board member and the "fac"e for mentoring in the Shenandoah community.


The Iowa Volunteer Hall of Fame was established in 1989 to honor Iowans who have made extraordinary donations of volunteer service to their communities. The most prestigious state-level honor volunteers can receive; the people selected have freely given their time and talent in countless ways to benefit others and have forever changed their community, the state, the nation, or the world. 

2018 Inductees:

  • Dr. James Bell, Cedar Rapids
  • Deverie Kiedaisch, Keokuk
  • Harry and Terry Swanson, Clive
  • Pamela Wolter, Denver
Event Location: 
State Capitol Building
1007 East Grand Avenue
First Floor Rotunda
Des Moines, IA 50319

Printed from the website on September 26, 2021 at 2:10am.